Oklahoma City UniversityWhere You're a Name Not a Number  
Future StudentsCurrent StudentsAcademicsFaculty/StaffAdministrationVisitors/ParentsAlumniAthleticsDiversityHomeContact


Congratulations to the OCU Symphony Orchestra, 2014 OMEA Collegiate Honor Ensemble!

The Oklahoma City University Symphony Orchestra is a student ensemble composed of music and non-music majors, graduates and undergraduates.The more than 90 musicians in the ensemble are selected based on an audition process. The Symphony Orchestra has been honored by ASCAP with the Adventurous Programming Award and in 2004, represented the United States at the “Meet in Beijing” arts festival. The Symphony Orchestra was also the honor group at the 2009 OMEA State Convention.

The Symphony Orchestra gives numerous concerts a year, performing a wide range of standard orchestral repertoire and maintaining a commitment to performing and promoting new music. The Symphony Orchestra also serves as the basis for the pit orchestras in the Opera & Music Theater productions, as well as the orchestra for the annual Christmas Vespers at Oklahoma City University. Students receive vast experience and training through rehearsals, both full and sectional, two-to-three times a week. The experience students gain here plays a significant role in developing and preparing them to be professional musicians.

Watch video clips of the Symphony Orchestra!

orchestraOklavision Interview with Ben Nilles highlighting the
2010-2011 Symphony Orchestra Season (.mov)

Organ Concerto – Francis Poulenc (.mov)
Mark Parker, conductor; Louise Bass, organ
March 26, 2009

Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis – Ralph Vaughan Williams (.mov) 
Benjamin Nilles, conductor 
March 26, 2009 


All concerts begin at 8:00 p.m. in Petree Recital Hall.
Pre-concert talks begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Bass Atrium.


Concert No. 1 – Saturday, September 21

 Prelude to Tristan und Isolde – Richard Wagner

Finlandia, Op. 26 – Jean Sibelius

Joshua Klossner, graduate conductor


Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14 – Hector Berlioz

I. Rêveries, passions

II. Un Bal

III. Scène aux champs

IV. Marche au supplice

V. Songe d’une Nuit du Sabbat


Concert No. 2 – Saturday, November 23

 Symphony No. 9 in D Major – Gustav Mahler

I. Andante comodo

II. Im Tempo eines gemächlichen Ländlers. Etwas täppisch und sehr derb

III. Rondo-Burleske: Allegro assai. Sehr trotzig

IV. Adagio. Sehr langsam und noch zurückhaltend


Concert No. 3 – Saturday, February 8

 Overture to Oberon – Carl Maria von Weber

Josh Buxton, graduate conductor

Le tombeau de Couperin (1918) – Maurice Ravel

Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23 – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

I. Allegro ma non troppo e molto maestoso

Zhander P’ng, piano

Tragic Overture, Op. 81 – Johannes Brahms


Concert No. 4 – Tuesday, March 11; Angie Smith Chapel

Symphony No. 36 in C Major, K. 425 “Linz” – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

I. Adagio – Allegro spiritoso

II. Poco adagio

III. Menuetto

IV. Finale (Presto)


Toccata Festiva, Op. 36 – Samuel Barber

Melissa Plamann, organ

Pines of Rome (1924) – Ottorino Respighi

Pines of Villa Borghese

Pines Near a Catacomb

Pines of the Janiculum

Pines of the Appian Way


[ Download PDF ]

[ Download PDF ]


Contact Us
Apply Online
Schedule Visit

How to Give